Day 1: We feel what we think

Day 1.

We know how to stand up, when we know where we fall

When my hard disk crashed, I was anxious and angry. When my colleague insisted on me calling a client to find out something for him instead of him making the call directly, I was frustrated by the redundant workflow. It’s the event that made me feel this way. Reasonable, isn’t it? Therapy says no.

The quality and intensity of our emotions are our thoughts about the situation.

“We feel what we think.”

When we attach a faulty meaning to the event, we will experience the negative emotion. Having emotions is fine, just that some are not constructive, and hence unhealthy.

I started from ranking my problems. Not all problems are that serious, and there could be others that I’m blind to.

Day 1. Ranking of the problems
Day 1. Ranking of the problems

Ranking the issues is to allow us to attach NEW MEANING to these triggers.

Attaching new meaning to thoughts.
Attaching new meaning to thoughts.

From the effects, the diagnosis shows that I do not have self-destructive behaviours (i.e. spending money recklessly/using illegal drugs or excessive alcohol/lashing out verbally or physically). I present largely mood-lowering and avoidance behaviours.

So, what I’d need to is to remember the new meaning. The new thought will play on repeat, and my reaction will improve when similar events occur.

Till the next session. Stay awesome!

One thought on “Day 1: We feel what we think

Leave a Reply

